top of page

KYLEE'S DESIGN BLOG

  • Writer's picturekydo5322

Kinetic Typography Creative Brief

For project one, I am being tasked with the challenge of creating a 45-60 second clip using the principles of kinetic typography. I will be applying these principles to Leonardo DiCaprio's 2016 UN speech about global warming. I chose this speech because it is impassioned, incredibly sad and hopeful at the same time, and I thought the audience would be more compelled to listen/read if they recognized the voice.


The music you hear in the background is not completely intentional, more of a happy accident. I found DiCaprio’s speech on YouTube and somebody had added very dramatic music over it. I thought it made the speech more interesting, so I plan on leaving the music in my kinetic typography clip. The music does add to theme, though. I want the video to show the severity of global warming, hence the music, but I also want in to be hopeful, like a call to action.


I will achieve this overall aesthetic by juxtaposing healthy, earth tones and symbols with dark, insidious tones and symbols, to highlight the idea that Earth is in danger and we need people to take action. My approach to the motion side of the design is fairly simple. I plan on transitioning the text in a somewhat uniform way, then emphasizing certain words. For example, the words on the slide will all fade in, except for the word “faster,” which will slide in quickly – mimicking the definition of the word.



コメント


bottom of page