top of page

KYLEE'S DESIGN BLOG

  • Writer's picturekydo5322

Proj 3 - Concrete

Although I butchered my first vessel, I enjoyed this project. I had several ideas for a concrete vessel, all were plant pots and were relatively simple. Due to the 1,001 other things going on in my life, I decide to pursue my simplest idea: a reverse pot. I wanted to create a bottom heavy pot plant and give it an abstract coat of paint but, I rushed it and as a result it looks terrible. Before I took out my vessel from its mold, I knew it was going to look horrible, so I decided to make a last minute second mold.

Here are my initial thoughts for the project:

I started out by cutting the bottom off a plastic pot and then hot gluing it to a foam board. To keep the middle hollow I used a plastic Cosmos cup.

I ran into issues when trying to fill the mold with concrete; in all, I used 3 different types of concrete. I started using concrete with large aggregate but, I thought that would look bad so I switched over to smaller aggregate. In the process of filling my mold I ran out of time. I had to leave my mold half filled and was unable to shake/settle. After class I had to buy concrete and finish filling my mold. As a result, there are distinct layers and they are all very lumpy. Plus, the vessel smells bad.

I think the main issues was the lack of shaking out bubbles and my aggregate to cement ratio was off. Fortunately, since I had so much concrete mix left over I decided to make a second vessel. For my second mold I took a two scrappy bowls I found in my kitchen. To add texture, I tried my best to lay pieces of twine flat in the bowl. After the bowl dried, I yanked out the pieces of twine.

I did not get the exact texture I wanted because the twine moved around in the concrete causing small bits of twine to get stuck in the concrete but overall, it turned out better than my first vessel. I think using twine could be an interesting way to add texture and I would like to try experimenting with it more.

Comentários


bottom of page