top of page

KYLEE'S DESIGN BLOG

  • Writer's picturekydo5322

Project 1: Wood

My initial idea for this project was a simple hexagonal prism with some interesting joints, like maybe a finger or dado. Shortly after using the miter saw and files to create a dado joint for the first time, I realized this was close to impossible. So I scrapped this idea and decided I would to the simplest version of this project and cut a bunch of different angles into a block of wood to create a weird prism. Here's how I did it:


1. Brainstorm.

2. Take long piece of wood and cut it into 5 pieces of 5 1/2"x 5 1/2"x 3/4" wood.

3. Stack and glue wood into block.


4. Cut off corners and saw interesting angles into block off wood. (It was at this step I went a little crazy and cut off way too much wood)

5. Sand the hell out of it.

6. Finish. I used this because the lady at Home Depot told me to. It ended being hard to get an even coat, so I lightly sanded it and got a smooth satin finish.

And Voila!


Comments


bottom of page