top of page

KYLEE'S DESIGN BLOG

  • Writer's picturekydo5322

Project 2: Plastic

Updated: Feb 19, 2019

Initially, I wanted to create two plastic vessels for the egg drop: a submarine that protected the eggs and a sea urchin that killed the eggs. Being the lazy college student I am, I only made one prototype that vaguely evolved from my sea urchin idea.

I call it a venus egg trap

Here are my original ideas (excuse the crude drawings)

When building my plastic vessel, I mostly focused on the aesthetic side, as opposed to structural integrity. As I write this, I actually have no idea how it will hold up to be smashed against a wooden board, but I can imagine not well. The main lesson I took away from this project is that it is incredibly hard to fuse plastics together. It is hard to work with plastics in general. So, the most likely result is my eggs cracking and my vessel shattering after one run.


I made my plastic vessel by cutting a caramel syrup bottle (HDPE) in half and fusing it to granola box lid (PETE), I then tried to melt shampoo bottle shards (HDPE) and plastic straws to the sides. To hang the vessel, I burned small holes on the side and threaded a disposable plastic bag through.


Aftermath

3/3 eggs destroyed


Comments


bottom of page