top of page

KYLEE'S DESIGN BLOG

  • Writer's picturekydo5322

Prototyping Phase 1

This week's prototypes were messy, mostly because I am struggling with my project concept. I have reservations about whether my project is relevant to TAM and whether or not I have the technical skills to pull it off. In total, I made 4 prototypes this week, one for role, two for look/ feel, and one for technical.


For the role prototype, I created a storyboard sketch to explore how users would interact with my project. The storyboard prototype was very simply; my intent was to try and illustrate the reaction people would make encountering furniture made out of weird material and what they would take away from it.

For the look/feel prototypes I created a rough sketch of a possible furniture set. I also 3D modeled and rendered a simple lamp pendant. The sketches were a means of getting my ideas on to paper. Since my project revolves around furniture design, every week I will try and generate as many sketches as possible because choosing a final design will be the hardest part of this project. The point of 3D modeling was to get familiar with Rhino and Fusion 360 again, since I haven't touched it since I took Form. As a result, my render is super basic, but should evolve as I get deeper into the prototyping process.

The main design is a circular chair with chunks of live moss woven in. Ideal for a patio set

For the technical prototype I started experimenting with materials. This week I decided to focus on paper pulp, which went south rather quickly. I started out with what I thought was a large amount of leftover paper confetti, but I was deceived by the amount so I did not have enough material to make a bowl as I intended. Instead, I decided to make a simple paper pulp brick, but since it was so thick it left me with a soggy paper loaf. I even tried to bake it, so it would dry faster. I also made several errors in the process of creating the pulp by not strictly adhering to what the recipe calls for. I made a lot of mistakes this week, but I am going to give paper pulp one more try before moving on to another material.


Recent Posts

See All

Prototype Ideas

I still have no idea what I want to do, but here are some possible prototype ideas: 1. 3D model a set of things - maybe furniture (I'm...

Comments


bottom of page