top of page

KYLEE'S DESIGN BLOG

  • Writer's picturekydo5322

Prototyping Phase 3

This weeks prototypes were a bit repetitive. The batch of kombucha I started last week started molding so I had to toss it, and as usual I spent a lot of time sketching, 3D modeling, and rendering. I tried to expand on the renderings by photoshopping one into a living room scene to create a hero shot. I also started working on obtaining the required materials to grow mushrooms. I spent a lot of time driving around Boulder looking for agar, but luckily, Claire ordered some online, so after class I can start growing.


Here are some of my sketches. I designed these ones as a set and then I rendered them out.

Here are the renders. These ones took a lot more time than I my previous models, but I think they turned out well. Plus, my hero shot.


For my first batch of kombucha leather, the scoby never formed and bunch of mold spores appeared. To avoid this in my second attempt, I used a different brand of kombucha and I tried to sterilize the tub I'm using to hold the kombucha.

After driving around town to find agar and eventually getting some from Claire, I started working on growing mycelium. I am only at the first step of the process. Collecting a mushroom sample (I bought an oyster mushroom from the grocery store), cutting off a small piece and cultivating it in agar for a few days until spores start to appear. This weekend, I plan on designing a mold for when the mycelium's ready.


Here's the video I'm using as reference, it's pretty interesting.


Recent Posts

See All

Prototype Ideas

I still have no idea what I want to do, but here are some possible prototype ideas: 1. 3D model a set of things - maybe furniture (I'm...

Comments


bottom of page