top of page

KYLEE'S DESIGN BLOG

  • Writer's picturekydo5322

Prototyping: Phase 2

This week I focused on look/feel and the technical aspects on my project, which means next week I'll have to spend more time thinking about the role of the project.


Since my project is design/fabrication heavy, I have been working on a lot of quick sketches. Most of my sketches revolve around the digifab portion of my project, as opposed to the sustainable materials side. This is making me question whether or not I should change gears. I was thinking (maybe) instead of making my project about being green, it could be an open source hardware project about sharing easy to make/cheap furniture designed for college students. The only downside is that I want to continue experimenting with weird materials.

Building off the digifab aspect, I took one of my sketches and rendered it out. I also turned that model into a laser cutter file, so my prototype for next week will be small shoe rack I designed.


For the technical prototype, I started working on my kombucha leather. It was easy to start the kombucha (all you need is tea, sugar, water, and store bought kombucha), but the hard part is the waiting. To form a thick enough scoby to use as leather, I am going to have wait 2-4 weeks for the kombucha to ferment, then I am going to have to wait another 2-3 days for the leather to dry out. Since it will take so long, I will post progress pics as we continuing prototyping.

Here is the video I based my process off. It's gross, but interesting.



Recent Posts

See All

Prototype Ideas

I still have no idea what I want to do, but here are some possible prototype ideas: 1. 3D model a set of things - maybe furniture (I'm...

Kommentare


bottom of page